Installing Firmware, Tools menu not showing

Whenever I open the firmware, the Arduino starts. However, there is no tools menu for me to install the board (if I am saying that correctly). I am a total newbie at this. Here is a picture.

It lookes like mac, so i installed it on the mac mini to find out.
Mac likes to ‘hide’ the menu away from the window at the top of the screen.

1 Like

Oh, and welcome to the Forum!

1 Like

Thank you so much! I thought it would take days or weeks to get a response. I am trying to set this up, get a little practice, and help my STEM students begin using it. I cannot tell you how much I appreciate the quick reply.

1 Like

Thank you for the help. Not sure if the last message got to you, but I appreciate it very much. Ran into another issue. Here is the error message I got when trying to install the program into the arduino.

Arduino: 1.8.13 (Mac OS X), Board: “Arduino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)”

Sketch uses 57300 bytes (22%) of program storage space. Maximum is 253952 bytes.
Global variables use 2009 bytes (24%) of dynamic memory, leaving 6183 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 8192 bytes.
avrdude: ser_open(): can’t open device “/dev/cu.usbmodem143101”: Resource busy
ioctl(“TIOCMGET”): Inappropriate ioctl for device
avrdude: ser_send(): write error: Bad file descriptor
avrdude: stk500_send(): failed to send command to serial port
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
the selected serial port avrdude: stk500v2_getsync(): timeout communicating with programmer
does not exist or your board is not connected

This report would have more information with
“Show verbose output during compilation”
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

Don’t even know what language this is in.