Maslow Evolution Sustainability

Hello Fellow Maslowians.
I am new to the Maslow community and have purchased a first generation Màslow on eBay and noticed this quite old a machine compared to the Maslow 2 ór the Maslow 4 which it seems many of you have. My question is will the machine I have now become obsolete and not be able to find software compatible for it? If it isn’t already obsolete.
You see I don’t know what I’ve gotten myself into. Maybe your all a bunch of rich kids that can easily adapt to the latest evolution of Maslow quite easily financial wise. I on the other hand am no spring chicken and on a fixed income and admit getting into this at my age is quite intimidating. I wonder if I’ll be able to hang with you geniuses.
One thing I can say in my favor is that I’m a quick study and skilled with carpentry and mechanical attributes.
I simply want to know will the first generation of Maslow’s become obsolete?

It isn’t obsolete. Software still exists for the earlier versions and will be around for a long time. The software likely will not see any updates/improvements though.

Once you get it set up. You can send me a DM and I’ll provide my phone # and talk you through any problems. It can be intimidating at first.

2 Likes

‘software for the maslow’ is many layers

CAD, create the design
CAM, convert the design to gcode
controller, send the gcode to the system
firmware, receive the gcode and drive the motors

firmware and controller software isn’t going to be getting a lot of work, but it
hasn’t been changing much recently anyway.

most of your time is spent in the CAD/CAM space and that is pretty indepenent of
what machine you are running.

David Lang

2 Likes