Should I start with a round sled?

Noob here, both to CNC/CAD and Maslow. I received my kit yesterday and have put together the computer and gotten it connected to my computer, etc. Very exciting!

My question is this: With all the updates using a ring style sled attachment, should I even bother making the sled as detailed in the Maslow instructions? Is there a round sled design that this community has more or less zeroed in on that is make-able without a plasma cutter?

1 Like

A round sled can be made with a router and a piece of wood like a giant compass. Attach the router to one end of a strip of wood (a few inches wide and at least as long as your sled radius) then put a screw through the strip at the distance of the radius from the router bit. So if you want an 18" sled then put the screw through the strip 9" from your router bit (which is attached to the end of the strip. Then screw the screw into a large enough piece of plywood. Run it around like a compass to cut your perfect circle! You even have the center marked now by the screw hole.
There are many other ways to do this but that’s a pretty easy one.
-Logan

1 Like

there is no ring sled kit, there are two pantograph kits available. I would use
one of them (or make your own based on the discussion.

David Lang

2 Likes

@icedub

I’m just slightly ahead of you as I’m going to work on my temporary setup today. You might want to check out Noob 101 in the wiki.

I had this very debate about - chicken and egg of making the final sled first. I’m going to go down the temporary sled path after reading.

@dlang - In some of the pictures ,I thought of your setup it looked like you were at some point early on using a cutting board as a sled?

The design is incremental and open to moving to any direction you want based on knowledge and skill. Please keep us up on your progress and welcome to the group.

Thanks

I haven’t actually built my machine yet (garage space and starting a new job),