Sketchup to CAM?

I’m new to maslow and cnc in general.

I’ve done some modeling with sketchup in the past, and it’s the program i’m currently most proficient at.

I’ve attempted to export something I created in sketchup (the online/web version) in order to produce Gcode, but with very limited success.

The most success I’ve had was a dozen step process to take my design and de-construct it in sketchup into several flat things all in the same plane and lofted how i think they need to be, then importing to freecad and going thru lots of machinations to get to something that sorta puts out g-code.

for reasons i cannot fathom, it does not write gcode for all the pieces.
or it writes blank gcode.
and I cannot edit the imported model. despite each piece being totally separate from the other, freecad treats it as one monolithic part.

so before I stab in the dark and try other cad/cam suites blindly attempting to find one that works best, does anyone else have this process worked out? From sketchup (.stl) to something that can be lofted/nested and finally to gcode?

thanks!
km

I used SU for years (mostly for 3d printing) and I was happy with it. Then I got in touch with Fusion 360 and onshape. Since then SU is not an option anymore. Solid modelling produces always good objects and the history based approach saves you a lot of time.

I know the GitHub think can be a little confusing, but this is what I am using. It is a plugin for sketchup to convert faces to svg files.

Does the plugin work with the online/web based sketchup that is the free version nowadays?

Km

Does this help?

unfortunately I don’t think this plugin works with the free online version.
now if i’m willing to pay $299 a year, it looks like I can get all the extensions and plugins i want.
but what fun would that be…:slight_smile:
km

Hmmmmm it used to work with the free version, but I guess they changed the rules :worried: