Software for Older Makesmith

I bought one of the small Makesmith machines from a guy on Ebay. He told me to use Ground Control so I downloaded the latest version and soon found that it wouldn’t talk to the older hardware. This has been confirmed on this site which also suggested scrolling down to the “Last Makesmith” version (.60). But unfortunately, the downloads are no longer available for this and older versions. Can anyone tell me where or how to download UI software that will work with my new/old machine? Sorry to be such a turnip, but I’m a newbie. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks! Gordon

Oh man! That goes all the way back to 2015. Let’s see what we can figure out.

The good news is that the files you want are in there, they’re just a little bit hidden. You want to download this zip file here:

Then when you extract it in the “build” folder you will find installers for each OS. If you are on Windows you probably want the .exe one.

You might get some security warnings and such, but I was able to install and run that one. Good luck!

Thanks Bar. I fumbled around and got v. 0.59 to load and run, but I think my board (Arduino knock off) seems to be defective. It tries to connect but fails and then scrolls weird Chinese characters endlessly. I ordered a new Arduino board and will try again when it gets here. Thanks again for the advice.
GA

That could also be the COM port. Were you able to install the firmware successfully?

that sounds like a communication speed issue. was the firmware baud rate different? You can change that number and try again.

Thanks Orob. I set the baud rate at 57600. I read that somewhere. Can you tell me if that’s correct? Thanks!

Hey Bar,
Yes, I was able to load the firmware successfully…well, I think I did anyhow. Thanks for the advice guys.