WebControl Collaboration

It seems we have people that are contributing PRs and with a recent change in my work status (as well as lots of other things) I don’t have nearly as much free time as I have had in the past. I’d really like to not be a bottleneck for webcontrol. I like using github, but I’m not an expert at it. What’s the best way of getting things moving where, if someone or some people are inclined, are able to manage things if I’m not moving quick enough? I see there’s a github organization option… does that make sense?

1 Like

There’s a few things. Adding other people who can review and approve PRs would be a start.
It’s good to think about management of branches and releases and having a basic strategy for this that everyone can follow.
In general a branch per issue. And a decision about when certain branches get merged back into the main branch for the next release. With master being updated after each ‘official’ (whatever that is) release.

And a simple roadmap helps.
It sets a direction, gives a shared understanding of roughly “what’s next”, and by implication priorities, but it also allows people to still contribute interesting things that we can “get to along the way”.

So, would a GitHub organization facilitate all of that?

Thanks for the invitation. I would like to be a part of this, but I am super new at github. I am happy to help with new code testing and adding new features.

I created a webcontrolcnc organization… I’ll add you to that as well. I think I can give more people more control through an organization.

I’d be interested in helping out. I’m more of a front-end developer; my main language is Javascript, but I’ve been looking for an excuse to learn about Python backends.

1 Like