Z Axis Calibration Issue - Router Pops Off Guide Pin

I’ve been messing with it for a while. This is my first time finally getting the machine to move :slight_smile:

I’ve tried tightening the clamp, leaving it open, and everything in between. Every time the Z motor moves, the router gets stuck and the little guide deal attached to the screw pops out of the grove in the router, and then, obviously, nothing happens because the router doesn’t go down into the wood or follow the Z axis motor any more…

Anyone else have this issue or have any suggestions on how to fix it?

Thanks in advance.

Does this mean loosening the clamp?

Have you tried doing any sort of lubrication on the router? Does it move smoothly by hand? Does the guide pin look damaged or anything? Pictures might help us to diagnose

@bar

Sorry for being unclear. I should have taken pics last night, I was just tired and frustrated. Haha. Here are some pics to illustrate my issue.

I’ve adjusted this clamp from totally open, to loose, to really tight. The problem happens no mater which level I tighten the bolt.

This is the guide that I was speaking of, the one attached to the power screw. The little insert that guides the router up and down.

The guide pops out of the notch in the router if I try and run the test cut program or (about 75% of the time) when I try adjusting the Z axis to find zero earlier in the calibration program. You can see the scratches it has left on the outside of the router from the clip moving up and down across the surface after it’s popped out of the guide indent.

Also, another issue (or maybe it’s what it’s supposed to do), whenever I hit go on the test cut program, it backs the router up from my zero along the Z axis until the motor jams the guide against the top. I’m kinda thinking that this is intentional so that it can find the complete range of motion…?

Thanks again for the help. Hopefully that clears up my ramblings!! :slight_smile: