Z axis stops reporting position on main ground control screen v1.20

Has anyone else seen this: After I used return to center on the actions page, the z axis would move (with manual and gcode instructions), but the z indicator on the main page would still show 0.00 no matter how I moved the z. It would then error if I ran a gcode file with specific z depths.

I have tried twice to reset this condition but it seems as though I have to re-calibrate the unit to get rid of this z problem. I will try switching to 1.18 version to see if the problem still persists.

Any insight into this behavior would be appreciated. I am not a novice with cnc routers and creating gcode files. I built a build_your_own_cnc_router 2’ x 4’ back in 2013 and have used it quite successfully. The Maslow is superior in price performance and this last bug is preventing me from running solely on the Maslow.

Thanks in advance for any comments/help.

Check that the z motor cable is firmly plugged in at both ends (unplug, replug).
Does the ‘Actions/TestMotors’ pass or fail? That is a good test of the encoder. If not, try swapping the z cable with one of the other motor cables to differentiate between a motor/encoder problem or an ArduinoMega problem. There is no active circuitry for the encoders on the Maslow board.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. I might have not been clear. The z axis motor fully functions with the z axis control and moves the correct value when manually activated both up and down. It is the main page display that is frozen on 0.00. Checked the cables each time but no difference. Will run test encoders with special attention to z axis running

2 Likes