Z-axis upgrade and enclosure for dust control

Forgive my broken English and grammars!

I have been using the Maslow for a few months now. The biggest challenge for me was the z axis and dust control.

My Z axis upgrade was inspired by @Onelonedork. I have purchased a 100mm stroke actuator from banggood. I had to do some machine milling to shorted the actuator to about 70mm, This is because it needs to fit into the enclosure I built for dust control.

This is the 3D printed bracket for collecting dust at the source.

It looks crappy with those epoxy and PVC pipe, but it works pretty good. I would say it collect about 95+% of the dust.

Another angle of the whole assembly

This enclosure looks over kill, but all the rest of the dust that escape from the source stays in there. I also have a chinese knockoffs dust deputy in between ( this chinese knockoff one works better then the officially one, I have both of them)

And of course. At the end, I have to print myself a gold star

32 Likes

I love that you built a full enclosure! We are going to have our Maslow in a large shop with low concrete ceilings and limited ventilation, so I’m worried about both dust and noise, particularly if we start cutting aluminum. I have been thinking about an enclosure as well.

5 Likes

Awesome work! Well done. I love the entire build.

Thank you

3 Likes

Me too and this example is WOW!

I may just go with some sort of curtain arrangement to keep cost and space reasonable. I haven’t thought much about it beyond some sort of curtain arrangement - likely translucent vinyl of the shower curtain liner variety. More to keep the dust missed by the collector contained than making a hermetically sealed vacuum chamber.

2 Likes

haha, how about this one as our new standard frame. I love it, you clearly put way too much time into it :smiley:

3 Likes

This is beautiful!