Chain tensioning spool

Hi Maslow CNC Community,

I’m a newbie building my first Maslow frame. Here’s my approach to chain tensioner: a spool powered by two springs taken from the largest (10 meter) and cheapest tape measures I could find.

Is there a reason why this solution isn’t used much? I couldn’t find anything similar so far, everything is either bungee cords or weights.

Sending a video and picture.

Emil

9 Likes

The reason is probably because your solution is so brilliant that surely I didn’t think of it. Weights were an improvement compared to bungee cords but the weights always dangle in the way when you shift the frame. Your solution solves that and keeps the slack chain always parallel.

2 Likes

Yeah, we didn’t do it because we didn’t think it was possible. Brilliant!!

I watched the video clip again because it is so well engineered. I did notice that from 10 to 15 seconds the chain makes a snapping sound. You can see that the teeth of the sprocket lift the chain. Also at 34 seconds when the rotation is reversed the slack side does the same. You don’t hear it as much because the tension is lower. The chain and sprocket will wear faster or maybe derail at some point.

But again a brilliant solution, respect :slight_smile:

Yes, thank you. I actually noticed that and cringe at that sound myself. I will change the offset of the top beam relative to the work plane. The choice of top beam material is poor, too - plan to go for a metal beam ultimately. Just learning and experimenting.

The slack side is easier to adjust, as the tensioner can be moved to better match the plane of the sprocket.

I think @dlang proposed this a long while back. I’m sure he’ll be glad to see someone did it.

1 Like

just keep the tension low so that you don’t end up with more tension on the
slack side than on the sled side (about 4 pounds of tension), but this sort of
take-up should not need much tension as you don’t have a lot of chain dangling
somewhere.