Maslow Electronics Wiring Diagram for Aux Outputs

So I eluded to a wiring diagram in this thread and thought that some people may be curious. In the interest of not hijacking the thread, I’ve made a new one here. Feel free to discuss aux pin uses and other wiring topics below, this can definitely be a free-flow discussion.

Disclaimer, I’m not an electrical engineer and I’ve been known to make mistakes. If anyone sees anything wrong, please let me know. I’d like to know now before I wire everything up and fry the arduino/motor shield/router :persevere:

This is very basic, and really only shows the connections from the motor controller to various components of the machine. I really just wanted to wrap my head around a couple of different features that I want to add to my machine. I am planning an electronics upgrade at some point in the relatively near future. If need be, I may make a cleaner, not hand drawn version at some point.

This diagram covers E-stop, power for the spindle, and auto tool height wiring.

After I get through triangular kinematic tests, a new electrical cabinet with all these features is a top priority of mine. :wink: Once I get to that point I will do a build log.

5 Likes

I’d put the eStop on the 12V DC side in this diagram, switching the AC side will take longer since you need to wait for the power supply capacitance, etc, to run down.

I plan to switch the router with an SSR controlled by aux1 (moose, like SSRs, are cheap) and subject to experimental verification expect that dropping 12V will also kill the power to the router. If not it’ll take another relay to kill that. I’ve been unable to find out if shorting the router’s AC leads will make it stop faster without damaging the electronic speed control, but that’s a possible benefit of using a mechanical relay. Haven’t priced a replacement yet…

1 Like

Thanks Moose! This is one of the reasons why I posted the diagram. :wink: