New Maslow in Texas

I received my Kit on Saturday and started assembly on Monday. Finished her up today after running into a few snags but now she’s purring like an automated kitten. Here she is attached to her temp sled with custom z-axis while cutting out her permanent base.

https://youtu.be/37MNvYUJQpc

I opted for a metal top rail mentioned in another forum which works wonderfully.
My Base design was based off of the standard design but I added some sheet storage in the back and mounted it on locking wheels.

Issues:

1. Heat sinks kept falling off. Resolution-ordered some thermal glue recommended in another forum. Works well.
  2. My Bosch router base didn’t have the z-travel needed and kept binding up. Resolution- I threw together a z axis alternative with some drawer slides and some 3/8” threaded rod. Works well but will need some modification down the line.
  3. I have plenty of CAD experience but zero CAM or gcode experience. A walk through with step by step instructions for us Noobs would be perfect to situate in the assembly guide as “here’s your first project” paint by numbers sort of thing. Resolution-I found a video by Hannah where she exported a book holder to svg then took it to MakerCAM to gcode.

That’s it! Looking forward to making things!

Timm

3 Likes

@tmd Welcome to our group.

Workflow is the most challenging aspect of CNC from my view. Very few have a single workflow from beginning to end. Most end up finding a group of tools that they move between depending on the project. As understanding grows, skills shift and better tools are used. I call CNC “The Art of making chips.”

Thank you

1 Like

It’s a fun art form. :sunglasses:

1 Like

On point 2, i’m really interested in some pictures.

And point 3 would be a little difficult to do. Cam is very simlar across all cnc machines, the differences are in the software you use, and it doesn’t really make sense to make a make a maslow specific tutorial for every software package.