New to Maslow. Sled issue

Hello everyone. I’m new to the Maslow and this forum. I just built the frame and just finished the temporary sled. When I went to hang the temporary sled, I noticed it isn’t lying flat onto the board. I read the FAQs and it mentioned the chain tightness. I was wondering if anyone else ever had this issue and what they did to fix it. Also, when I put the chains onto the sled, I didn’t know how tight it should be. I just tried to line it up in the middle of the board.

Thanks for any help that you can provide.

Can you adjust the ring height above the sled? That will correct for what you see. Try to make the ring high enough that the chains are parallel to the workarea sheet of plywood.

2 Likes

So unscrew the ring and make it as high as it will go onto the temp sled? In your opinion, do you think I’ll have the same problem once it makes the final sled? What are your thoughts on my angle? I really appreciate your help.

-Jason

I think ideally you want the sled to hang at the same angle as your frame. To test this, manually lift the sled off the frame slightly by holding onto the chains. You only need to pull it off the frame about an inch. Sled and frame should be parallel. The ring closer to the base pulls the top of the sled off the frame. The ring in the highest position will tilt the top towards the frame.

1 Like

You guys are great. I was seriously worried that I would need to take the frame apart. I’ll give it a shot tomorrow night (EST) and let you guys know how it does. I appreciate your help.

1 Like

Out of curiosity, what do you think about the frame angle? Does it look OK?

It might be a little close to vertical. The symptom would be that lowering the z-axis while the bit is spinning would lift the sled off the surface instead of just cutting into the wood. Bit sharpness, material hardness, other variables come into play as well. Try it and see - this is art as much as science…

1 Like