Question about Cutting circles

hello all I have a strange problem cutting circles in ground control.
the circle cuts in 4 segments (does a 4 arcs cut movement not a single circular) this makes the cut time 4 times longer because the machines pauses 4 times in each circle I cut. the file is correct ( I have a lot of experience in cnc cutting and I prepare the file correct for cutting. ( a single line with no segments inside the line) this happens only on circles, the straight lines are cutting normally.

any ideas ?

1 Like

can you post the gcode file?

2 Likes

axinos.nc (3.0 MB)

it is very complex as a file but all the straight lines are cutting at normal speed.

Is this made with online makercam set to metric? It looks like…

1 Like

yes it is !

1 Like

G3 X-543.1928934010152 Y104.12436548223351 I-9.32741116751269 J0 F1500

The crazy number of digits gave it away. Thats the fist to take care of. I would not dare to try to add 2 of those numbers, and you are asking the firmware and the arduino to create position calculations out of it.
The project looks amazing and i might see 1 or 2 more hurdles, but step by step :slight_smile:

2 Likes

the final result was perfect but it took 30 hours to complete !!!

1 Like

Can you give me hint on which one to look at? I see ALLOT. Is that on all circles?

1 Like

My first suggestion is that you suppress some of the decimal precision. Anything under .01mm is well beyond the precision of the Maslow.

it is an “island cut” all circles extrude from the wood and yes they are all circles and all had the same problem…

how to do that? is there a command on ground control to ignore these? or to make the numbers smaller?

I can’t confirm that for the few i looked at. Much more segments!
What would require 1 or 2 lines of g-code is here 16 or so for 1 circle.