Recovery of scrap wood

I am very new to the Maslow concept and forum. I have been woodworker for almost 35 years. I would purchase the kit for this machine today if it were available. One thing I do not see is a design to recover the scrap wood. Most woodworkers keep scrap if it is over a certain size. I would think this machine would do a great job of making a dog bone pattern (male and female) for gluing up the scraps into a new sheet of plywood??

1 Like

Plywood doesn’t glue edge-to-edge very well. You’re only going to get long grain contact on every other layer and in very thin areas. (The end grain contact has no appreciable strength when glued.

Even if you overcome the risk of separation by some mechanical means (your dogbone idea) you’ve lost your rigidity along any seams.

Typically in the CNC world, we do our best to nest the individual pieces in order to conserve material and minimize waste. But sometimes it just can’t be avoided… large scraps can still be cut; you just have to mount it on the backer piece securely and carefully define the zero point before cutting.

1 Like

I agree with you about plywood on end grain but I think it depends on what you are making and the thickness of the plywood. I generally use 3/4 in or metric equivalent. Many of the designs I have seen are for decorative purpose which I feel would work.

It would be nice if there was a smple way to reduce scraps to a minimum, Since CNS allows for organic shapes it also tends to create more unused material, and that in it’s turn creates stuff hat consumes space.

I think we should make his topic come back every so often to remind us to keep the waste to a minimum.

Sawing rectangles will always the path to less waste. waste material can eventually be used as sacrificial material behind the worksheet. but i’m not sure how practical that is

1 Like

There are lots of tools out there that can help you nest shapes together to
minimize waste.