Sled not keeping up alarm

Hello, first off I am not a programmer so the common verbage that goes along with programming means absolutely nothing to me (or my wife). We are struggling with this build: we purchased the Maslow CNC Jumpstart kit. After 2 weeks we finally stumbled on a set of videos that are “almost” helpful, but the guy in the videos keeps referring to his phone from across the room & turning his back on the camera, or my favorite is working off camera saying “see what it did there” - no I cannot see it! & of course he is using Ground Control.

So we finally get the firmware to upload correctly, sort through the outdated software in the ever helpful instructions on community garden (someone really should update those links to remove ground control since it is obsolete instead of just simply referring to the fact that it is obsolete & tell people to find WebControl instead)

HOWEVER, when we go to set the chains the left chain immediately throws an alarm that the sled cannot keep up. We tried adjusting setting - with no idea if we are changing the correct settings becaue *we are not programmers and do not speak the language… after an hour of that crap - my wife pushed to extend the right chain - surprisingly it ran about 1/4 of the way and threw an alarm that said “unable to find valid machine position for chain lengths” so we went in and fiddled with the settings Tried it again, and it ran the chain to half - but here again is that what it is supposed to do?
because 1 video shows running 1/2 and another shows doing it a different way BUT none of those videos are using WebControl - they all use Ground Control.
So we ran the left chain extension again & this time got 1 sled not keeping up alarm. we cleared the alarm, but then we got the “Unable to find valid machine position for chain lengths 0.01, 1652.82. Please set the chain to a known length” alarm.