Trouble with first cut

I’m a total noob here - just set up my M2 and created a very simple shape in Easel like this:

Very basic. I’m cutting half-inch plywood. The goal was two circles - one that’s ~1/8" deep, the other that’s 1/2" deep to cut all the way through.

Exported the gcode from Easel, and imported it into Makerverse, which showed this:

Screen Shot 2023-01-15 at 11.28.56 AM

Hit the play button to start cutting. For some reason, Makerverse told the router to cut on it’s way to the circles, and then backed off the z-axis so that the router bit was hovering above the surface when it was supposed to be cutting. So this is what I was left with:

So it’s cutting when it’s supposed to be just repositioning and not cutting when it’s supposed to be. Any ideas?

Perhaps relatedly, when I click the return to home button, it extends the z axis ~7mm so the router bit drags across the surface. Not sure why it doesn’t consider 0 to be home on the z axis.

Sounds like your z axis pitch is backwards or your gcode thinks the home position is inverted. When you made the gcode did you post process with grbl and tell it the top of the workpiece is zero and the z moves negative to plunge?

1 Like

Thanks but I don’t know what grbl is, so no, I didn’t post process. Is that a usual step? I thought you could just export a .nc file (which I guess is gcode) from Easel and import into makerverse and then cut.

Is there a good video tutorial on this? I see lots of videos on setup, calibration and one on makerverse but that one doesn’t walk you cutting a project.

Was the z axis acting correctly during the calibration?