Maslow in Latinoamerica

Hi everyone! I’m Juan Carlos from Quito-Ecuador and I am trying to buy a Maslow Cnc to use here! I’m very exited because y think this is an incredible oportunity!

I have a little problem, I’m also new in this world, but I can’t find a ridgid router here and also I don’t find a official retailer in Ecuador, that maybe will be a problem in the future for the router:

2 questions for you:

1. ridgid router quality? I can import one, how many hours I can work with this after it needs some repairs??

2. maybe a can use an deWalt, stanley, makita, Bosch, blackanddeker, router instead of the ridgid one? This brands are more accessible in Ecuador!!

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions!

The only reason why you’d use a Ridgid router is if you’re intending the have the “default” Z-axis. Other routers would also work; the main thing to look for is if they have a depth adjustment screw, and if that screw is relatively easy to turn to adjust height.

There are some issues with that default z-axis (too much slop, not reliable, etc), so a lot of Maslow users end up building an improved z-axis, search for Meticulous Z-axis, or C-channel on this forum. If you build a z-axis like that, you can use any router you want, as long as you can built a way to hold it.

Here in New Zealand a lot of people are using the Bosch POF 1200 AE. It’s cheap and easily available. You can find instructions to modify it here:

You can pretty much use any router, but you need to think carefully about how you will build the Z-axis drive. If you copy the existing designs (Ridgid router popular in USA, Bosch router popular elswhere) then it’s easier.

When choosing an alternative router also look for one with variable speed control so that you can slow it down to much lower RPM to work with the Maslow’s feed rate.

Many routers have a top speed of around 30,000 RPM, that can be too fast.